Editorial workflow: how to set it up with Pilot

The editorial workflow consists of defining precisely what the role of each team member is in relation to the production of content. This workflow can accompany the content throughout its lifecycle.

The main advantages of the editorial workflow are :

  • having an “official” process linked to content production: newcomers to a team are operational more quickly.

  • avoid wasting time: you know immediately what the next step is and who is responsible for it.

  • have an overall view of the state of the contents produced and to be produced: no bad surprises in terms of timing

  • managing the budget** allocated to content: anticipating the interventions of providers for example

Now that these elements have been clarified, let’s see how to set up this workflow in Pilot.

Define the statuses of the editorial workflow

As you will have understood, before personalizing your Desk (workspace), you will need to make sure that the roles held by the different team members are clear.

You will also choose the different steps that a content will have to go through. For example, you will

  • idea: an idea for content to be created

  • draft: the idea has been validated, the production of the content has started.

  • to be validated**: the production of the content is finished, a person in charge must review and/or validate it.

  • to be published: content ready for distribution

  • online**: the content is on its channel of destination (blog, newsletter, social network ….)

At this stage, you and your team know what everyone’s role is in relation to your content strategy, as well as the steps that make up the content workflow.

To customise these steps of the editorial workflow in Pilot, go to the Settings section and select “Workflow status”.

Here you can change the different statuses :

  • change order with the left arrows

  • change the name of the status, as well as the corresponding colour.

  • delete a status

You also have the possibility to add a new status

Changing the status of a content can be done via the list of your content, or in the information section within a content.

Associating tasks to certain moments in the workflow

Moving from one status to another can be equated with the performance of certain tasks.

In the situation where certain tasks are redundant, the possibility of creating “task groups “ will save you time.

Let’s take an example. Every month you publish an interview on your blog. The list of tasks associated with this content is always the same: choose the person to question, write a presentation of this person, list questions etc…

With Pilot, you can create typical to-do lists, and import this to-do list directly when you create content or a project.

Here’s how to do it :

Once again, it is in the Settings section that you will need to go. Select “Task Group”. You will be able to create a new group of tasks, modify an existing group.

Use the “Edit” button to add a new task to this list.

Each new task can be assigned to a responsible person. You will be able to choose whether the task can be deleted, whether it locks the content, or whether it triggers the status “to be published”.

Validate a status change in the editorial workflow

You can notify the members of your team to invite them to carry out an action (proofreading, revision, validation…).

The comment space is dedicated to these interactions.

The person mentioned will receive a notification inviting him/her to validate the content (here an Instagram publication). He/she will be able to change the status of the publication

Organising with calendars

The calendars integrated into Pilot have the advantage of giving a global view of your editorial workflow.

At a glance, you can view the different publication dates of your content as well as their associated statuses.

With the search and filter functions, you can find any element of your workflow: content, projects, channels, managers, etc…

To view the tasks in the calendar, click View, and select “Calendar followed by tasks “.

It is also possible to display the planned projects by activating the “Show projects” view.

You now have all the elements to allow you to optimise your content strategy with your team!

🙌 Ready to go? Start your trial today

App screenshot